How many times has Lewis Hamilton won the British Grand Prix?

Lewis Hamilton is the most successful F1 driver of all time (Photo: Getty)© Provided by Metro

Formula One returns to Silverstone this weekend for the 2024 British Grand Prix.

Around 480,000 fans will descend on the Northamptonshire circuit this weekend to cheer on home favourites Lando Norris, George Russell and, of course, Sir Lewis Hamilton.

The seven-time world champion is the most successful F1 driver of all-time and this race will be an emotional affair as it’s his final one for Mercedes before joining Ferrari in 2025.

The 39-year-old hasn’t won a grand prix since 2021 and would dearly love to end that streak on home soil. So with that in mind, let’s have a look at Hamilton’s Silverstone record and how many times he has won his home race.

How many times has Lewis Hamilton won the British Grand Prix?

Lewis Hamilton has won the British Grand Prix a record eight times.

His first triumph came in 2008 in the pouring rain, in what many consider to be the then-McLaren racer’s greatest drive.

He then won four in a row between 2014 and 2017 as the dominant Mercedes era began, and after finishing second in 2018 he returned to the top of the podium for the next three grand prix.

Hamilton won the 2020 British GP after suffering a punctured tyre on the last lap (Photo: Getty)© Provided by Metro

His latest two wins were especially memorable: In 2020, he took the chequered flag with only three wheels after a last lap puncture, while in 2021 he won after colliding with championship rival Max Verstappen.

It makes him by far the most successful driver in British Grand Prix history, with the next best being five-time winners Jim Clark and Alain Prost

How many British drivers have won the British Grand Prix?

Given that it hosted the very first F1 grand prix back in 1950, it’s not a surprise that so many British drivers have won their home race, 12 to be exact.

British winners of the British Grand Prix:

Lewis Hamilton: 2008, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2019, 2020, 2021

Jim Clark: 1962, 1963, 1964, 1965, 1967

Nigel Mansell: 1986, 1987, 1991, 1992

Stirling Moss: 1955, 1957*

Jackie Stewart: 1969, 1971

David Coulthard: 1999, 2000

Tony Brooks: 1957*

Peter Collins: 1958

James Hunt: 1977

John Watson: 1981

Damon Hill: 1994

Johnny Herbert: 1995

*Shared win

The first was the legendary Sir Stirling Moss way back in 1955 and you have to go back to the year 2000 to find the last driver from the UK not called Hamilton to triumph.

That was David Coulthard, with Norris and Russell looking to break that duct and join this illustrious list.

Which current drivers have won the British Grand Prix?

Aside from Hamilton, only three other drivers on the 2024 grid have triumphed at Silverstone.

Max Verstappen won last year’s race at Silverstone (Photo: Getty)© Provided by Metro

Fernando Alonso has done so twice, in 2006 and 2011, and having not won any race for 11 years he’ll be hoping he can make it a miraculous third in his Aston Martin.

Carlos Sainz, the man Hamilton is replacing at Ferrari next season, took the maiden win of his career at Silverstone in 2022.

Finally, last year’s race was won by Max Verstappen as he finally ended his luckless run at the British Grand Prix, but this was actually the Red Bull star’s second triumph at Silverstone after the 70th Anniversary Grand Prix which was staged in 2020 when the calendar was radically altered because of the Covid-19 pandemic.

With the likes of Norris, Russell, Oscar Piastri, Charles Leclerc and Sergio Perez vying for victory, we could have a fifth name on this list by the end of the weekend.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *